County or National

On this page we will be reporting on the progress of Bowlers from our Club as they play in County and National competitions.



The Men's Counties have reached their final stages and Isaac Tomkins was the only Canterbury player standing. However he won his final regional match on 29 June and will now receive his County badge. Well done Isaac.

Isaac then went on to win his quarter and semi finals and sadly lost in the Final at Maidstone on 6 August.

Also in the Final on 6 August were the Under 25 Pairs that included both Joe Vandepeer and Tom Attaway. They could not both be winners and Joe progressed to Leamington.

In the Cox Cup our A team decisively beat Herne Bay on 31 July but having progressed to the Finals played at Birchington Bowls Club on 5 August they lost in the Semi-finals. 

Not strictly a County competition but the Bernard Annand Trophy and Shield are played over several rounds to their conclusion at Herne Bay. We have one team of two fours in both competitions.

In the Trophy we defeated Lenham but lost away to Birchington.

In the Shield we defeated both Deal and Whitstable which takes us into the Finals to be held at Herne Bay on 3 September.

As has been reported on our Home Page we did indeed go on to win the Shield. Well done to the men.





The Ladies Counties has reached its final stage and our last team has been knocked out. So near yet so far.

In the Kent Under 25 Ladies competition Leah Bamford reached the County Final in the Singles and played  at Northfleet on 23 July and won. She will now progress to the National competitions in Leamington in August. Well done Leah!

In the Kent Under 25 Ladies Pairs Semi-final Leah Bamford with her partner Natalie Harrison from Appleyard BC won today (15 July). They then contested the Final on County Finals day on 23 July and triumphed! Leamington awaits.

In the Mollie Cleggett we beat Ashford Rail on 1st August in the Fifth Round and now progress to the Finals at Folkestone Town Bowls Club on Sunday 10 September, starting at 10am.

As has been reported on our Home Page we did indeed go on to win the Mollie Cleggett. Well done to the ladies.



The Nationals have reached the final stages and Chrissie Barr progressed further than any other Canterbury player, but fell at the final fence (being the Final for South East Kent of the Women's Champion of Champions). We still have players in the representative competitions.

Leah Bamford played in both Kent's Amy Rose games defeating both Hampshire and Buckinghamshire. Kent will now play Leicestershire in the National Semi Final at Leamington on 12 August.

Joe Vandepeer and Tom Attaway were representing Kent Under 25s as they beat Hampshire. The Kent team then went on to beat Buckinghamshire in the Regional final. They now move on to Leamington on 12 August where they will play Cumbria in the semi-final. Both Joe and Tom have been selected to play for Kent in this match.

Also at Leamington will be Leah Bamford following her County successes.

The full Bowls England timetable for Leamington can be found here.

All our players did well in Leamington bringing home to Kent the Amy Rose Bowl and White Rose trophies and making progress in the singles and pairs competitions.