National and Counties

National Competitions for men and women are run by Bowls England and the entries for 2023 opened on December 1st 2022 and closed on March 1st 2023. Details are here.

County competitions for men are run by Kent County Bowling Association  and for the women by the Women's Section of KCBA . Entry dates and rules can be found on their respective websites. The Club organises entries on behalf of members through the Secretaries of the Men's and Ladies' Sections who should be contacted if you wish to participate.

     Successes at a National or County level

Our Club is lucky to have amongst its members some of the finest bowlers in Kent and who have been successful at both National and County level. Some recent notable examples are set out below:

Nationals 2022 

Joe Vandepeer and Leah Bamford helped Kent Under 25s team win the National Men's and Women's Under 25s Men's and Women's Double Rink

Mick Fisher and Leah Bamford got through to the semi-finals of the the National Mixed Pairs at Leamington

Mick Fisher and Steve Wells got through to represent Kent in the Men's Pairs at Leamington.

Counties 2022

For the first time since 1929 the Club won the County double rink Cox Cup. The 8 who played in the final were Alan Cornfoot, Mike Cunningham, Chris Dawson, Tony Dobson, Pete Foster, Matt Rich, Jeff Vane and Joe Vandepeer. Dean Ellis, Mick Fisher, Steve Wells and Brian White played their part in the earlier rounds.

Joe Vandepeer reached the County Under 25s Final

Mick Fisher and Steve Wells reached the County Pairs Final

International Recognition 2022

Sue Mates was selected to be an Umpire at the prestigious Commonwealth Games.

Sue was subsequently selected to be an official at the World Indoor Bowls Championship in 2023.

Club Competitions 2022

    Winners of Club Competitions 2022

 Winners at the Annual Celebratory Dinner with trophies presented by Councillor Louise Harvey-Quirke, Sheriff of Canterbury 


Winners and runners-up 

Men's and Mixed

Men's singles Champion

Peter Foster

Runner up Jeff Vane


Mike Talbot

Runner up Joe Vandepeer

Court Challenge Cup

Bryan Nicholson

Runner up Darren Ellis

Two Wood Singles

Chris Dawson

Runner up Mervyn Gulvin

Two Wood Pairs

John Smith and Mervyn Gulvin

Runners up Eddie Churchley and Bryan Nicholson

Drawn Pairs

Barry Dilnot and Dave Swann

Over 65 Singles 

Mike Talbot

Runner up John Andrews

Mixed Pairs

Alison Macdonald and Andy Ferguson

Runners up Mandy and Darren Ellis

Matthew/Allen Cup

Dean Ellis and Mike Talbot

Runners up John Andrews and Thomas Andrews

Dickins Trophy

Tom Attaway, Maddie McConomy, Mike Cunningham

Major Carroll

Bill Hilman

Winners and runners-up 


Ladies' singles Champion

Chrissie Barr

Runner up Sue Close


Chrissie Barr

Runner up Alison MacDonald

Challenge Cup

Jane Carey-Harris

Runner up Anne Burton

Two wood singles

Mandy Catt

Runner up Chrissie Barr

Two Wood Pairs

  Alison MacDonald and Christiane de Weduwe

    Runners up Yvonne Gambrill and Sue Close 

Drawn Pairs  

Yvonne Gambrill and Jane Webster

Runners up Merrilyn Lee and June Mitchell

Short Mat


Mid Week League

Michael Hutchison

Novice singles and open singles

Karen Owen


Jenny Anderson and Peter Fawcett

Club fixtures 2023

Use the side bar or your up and down keys to scroll