Canterbury Bowling Club, Kent


Canterbury storm into the Div 4 County Semi Finals with Competitors in every discipline.

Singles. Dave Holmes and Peter Foster.

Two Wood Singles. Alan Cornfoot.

Unbadged Singles. Michael Hutchinson.

Pairs. Chris Dawson, Mick Fisher.

Triples. Peter Foster,Mick Fisher,Jeff Vane.

Fours. Chris Dawson,Roger Blissett,John King.


Canterbury went into the Forest of Blean game against Ashford Town with a depleted team due to County Competitions but the reserves stepped up and helped the team to a fantastic victory 139-64. Taking all 8 points.

Dave Rickard,Michael Lloyd,Alan Cornfoot. 30-11.

Dave Holmes,Keith Wright,Tony Dobson. 25-9.

Bryan Nicholson,Mervyn Gulvin,Dave Todd. 17-12.

Brian White,Colin Goldsack,Malcolm Nicholson. 23-11.

Darren Ellis,Ian Burton,Dave Charlton. 22-9.

Tom Nelson,Mike Talbot,Steve Wells. 22-12.


Canterbury Ladies won 64-56 against Thanet with the highest winning rink going to Chris DeWeduwe,Rosemary Wheeler,June Baker. 20-12.

Liz Long,Jenny Wilkinson,Sue Mates. Won 17-13.

Jill Jenkins,Sue Close,Karin Walker. Won 15-12.

Joy Burton,Karen Bishop,Yvonne Gambrill. Lost 12-19.


Losing on all rinks Canterbury ladies lost to Lyminge 36-56.

Madelaine Mc Conomy,Carole Nelson,Sue Close. Lost 15-17.

Sue Longley,Heather Goldsack,Sue Knott. Lost 12-25.

June Mitchell,Wendy Wright,Maureen Dilnot. Lost 9-14.


With 5 wins a draw and 2 lost Canterbury beat West Wickham 150-130.

Keith Havers,P. Beasley,June Baker,Pauline Darling. 18-17

Sandra Swann,Wendy Wright,Ian Mitchell,Malcolm Nicholson. 21-13.

Madelaine Mc Conomy,Tim Woods,Maureen Dilnot,Bryan Nicholson. 23-11.

J. wilkinson,Jean Beasley,Keith Wright,George Long. 23-11.

June Mitchell,Jane Carey- Harris,Chris Dawson,Colin Strouts.23-10.

Hugh Lundin,Peter Darling,Marion Patmore,David Swann. Drew 15-15.

Maureen Aitkin,Bob Keen,Ros Cheeseman,Bernard Woodhams. Lost 12-23.

Liz Long,Val Lundin,Michael Lloyd,Michael Hutchinson. Lost 16-30.


The Ladies held an Open 4s Competion which was competed for by 28 teams playing 3 games of 75 minutes Although Canterbury had five teams in the Competion none were in the top three.


The Winners were Eileen Pidduck,Anita Hubbard,Pat Jones,Jean Johnson. Of Victoria Park. 2nd place went to Gateway and third Cheriton.